BREAKING: Ekiti APC crisis deepens, faction suspends Fayemi | Platform Times

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on linkedin
Share on telegram
Share on pinterest

Estimated reading time: 6 minute(s)

The crisis rocking the All Progressives Congress in Ekiti State has taken a new turn with the emergence of a faction of the party and the suspension of the governor, Dr Kayode Fayemi, from the APC for alleged anti-party activity.

The faction led by Senator Anthony Adeniyi disclosed this in a communique issued at the end of the meeting made available to journalists in Ado Ekiti, the state capital, on Friday.

The faction which also described as illegal the Paul Omotoso-led state executives of the party, said “After painstakingly reviewing the activities of some members of the APC in Ekiti State, we the authentic members of the party in the State and members of SEC per Section 12.8 of APC Constitution being duly constituted members of the National Convention of the Party, rose from its meeting of the 23rd September 2020 with some far-reaching resolutions.”

Among resolutions at the meeting was “that Dr Fayemi, the Executive Governor of Ekiti State is hereby suspended from the Party in view of his numerous anti-party activities especially his role in the recently concluded governorship election in Edo State, which is contrary to the provisions of Article 21 (A) (ii) of the APC Constitution”.

The group also resolved that “the Paul Omotosho led faction of APC Executive in the State is hereby declared illegal and suspended from the party for failure to emerge in accordance to the Constitution of the Party”.

The faction also resolved that “Senator Adeniyi, as a statutory member of the SEC going by our party’s constitution, was elected by all members attending as the Acting Chairman of the State Executive Committee in the absence of direction or directive from the National Body. He is as such the only one thus capable to call the SEC meeting as duly required by the constitution from henceforth”.

The communique was signed by Senator Adeniyi; Senator Babafemi Ojudu; Senator Dayo Adeyeye; Bimbo Daramola, Robinson Ajiboye; Oye Ojo, Ekiti; Adewale Omirin; and Femi Adeleye.

Meanwhile, the APC State Publicity Secretary, Ade Ajayi, said the party in the state would react in due course.

Post Views:

Read the original article HERE

Related Articles

Leave a Reply