Rights commission names 11-man panel to probe police brutality – ORDER PAPER

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on linkedin
Share on telegram
Share on pinterest

OrderPaperToday – The National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) has named an 11-man panel to probe allegations of police brutality, especially by operatives of the defunct Special Anti Robbery Squad (SARS) of the force.

The panel, headed by a retired Justice of the Supreme Court, Justice Suleiman Galadima, will hear petitions, complaints and memoranda from Nigerians across the 36 states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), and thereafter make recommendations to the federal government on how best to reform the police force.

The Executive Secretary of NHRC, Tony Ojukwu, who made this known in Abuja Friday, noted that the terms of reference of the panel include to investigate all complaints of human rights violations against SARS and other units of the police force; and make appropriate recommendations as per the damages and compensations to be paid to the victims of police brutality.

Besides, the panel is given the powers to refer any matter, in the course of their assignment, to the Attorney General of the Federation, or that of a State for prosecution in accordance with the law.

The panel is empowered as well to make recommendations to government on measures to be taken in respect of operatives of defunct SARS or officers of the Nigerian Police Force, if any, found in violation of human rights of citizens and propose remedial steps that may enhance the professional conduct of defunct SARS operatives, any succeeding unit and other members of the Nigerian Police Force.

Other members of the panel are:

. Member – Abdulrahaman Yakubu

. Member – Yemi Ademolakun

. Member – Chioma Chuka

. Member – Prof. Ayo Atsenuwa

. Member – Tijani Mohammed

. Member – Dr. Uju Agomoh

. Member – DIG Ibrahim Lamorde

. Member – Dr. Garba Tetengi, SAN, mni

.Member – Feyikemi Abudu

.Member – John Aikpokpo Martins

.Secretary of the Panel – Hilary Ogbonna

Ojukwu also disclosed that all petitions, complaints and memoranda must reach the Commission, which is the Secretariate of the Panel on or before 31 October, 2020.

Read the original article HERE

Related Articles

Leave a Reply